

## PRESS RELEASE

No: 884/2015

Date: 30th November 2015

## More Extensive Government Reshuffle Early Next Year

The Cabinet will meet tomorrow morning for the first time since the re-election of the GSLP/Liberal Government at the end of last week.

A number of changes have been made to some Ministerial portfolios, mainly affecting the Chief Minister and the Deputy Chief Minister.

The Chief Minister, the Hon. Fabian Picardo QC, takes on responsibility for Gibraltar 2025, which is the Economic Advisory Council that will be established, taking a long-term view of the direction in which Gibraltar is heading. Mr Picardo will also take on responsibility for the Control of Drugs issue, which will include substance rehabilitation and Bruce's Farm.

The Deputy Chief Minister, the Hon. Dr Joseph Garcia, will formally take on responsibility for the delivery of the GSLP/Liberal manifesto, which became the policy of the new Government on Friday 28th November as soon as the new Ministerial team was sworn in. Dr Garcia will also take on responsibility for international political lobbying, including responsibility for the Gibraltar Office in London and other representative offices. This role includes specific responsibility for the promotion of the right to self-determination and liaison with the United Nations.

In view of these changes and of the fact that the European Union brief will involve a considerable increase in activity in the coming few years, the administrative responsibility for the Town Planning and Building Control Department will pass on to the Minister for Technical Services, the Hon Paul Balban. There will be provision made for Dr Garcia to remain on the Development and Planning Commission and in this way the political responsibility for the Department will be kept separate to the DPC. The Urban Renewal brief will formally pass to Dr Garcia at the same time.

A more extensive reshuffle now would have meant that the spending programmes of different Ministries would have had to be re-adjusted in the middle of the financial year. The other Ministerial portfolios will therefore remain as they are until next year.